DEAR STYLE FIX – Do stylish (yet comfy) shoes exist for mommies on the go?

Dear Style Fix,

I don’t have to dress in work wear often, but I still would love some style advice. I’m busy with a toddler most days and I really need shoes that are comfortable for standing/walking/running all day long. I need shoes that are practical for cement, grass, gravel and rain.

I have one pair of go-to waterproof black suede boots and an athletic-ish pair of black flats that I think look ok style wise as long as I don’t wear socks with them (and I have done that *cringe*). Running shoes are comfy too, but I feel silly wearing them with anything but athletic wear. What shoes should I wear in between boot season and sockless season (aka now)? Also what do I wear with a sundress in the summer? Sandals and flip flops look ok but aren’t comfy or supportive enough enough for long walks. Are there any semi-dressy flats out there that are actually comfortable all day long?

Amanda

Dear Amanda,

Being a mommy on the go is a tough one and it just doesn’t make sense that we would need to sacrifice our sense of style just to keep up with a 2 year old. I’ll answer your question in 4 parts.

1. Practical shoes for cement, grass, gravel and rain?
I LOVE these KAMIK “Jennifer” style boots because they are a twist on the traditional rain boot. Not only are they lined inside (which is rare to find in a rain boot) but they are also a stylish boot cut rather than the typical galosh style you see around. You’ll fool anyone into thinking you’re really a stylista in these super cute boots.

                          
KAMIL “Jennifer” boots – $65 (available in black, charcoal, dark brown & dark green) 
Found them at http://www.zappos.com/ 

2. The ‘in-between’ Season Shoes?

One of my accidental style finds happened when I went to university in California in the 90s. I got there and all the girls were wearing these converse shoes but they weren’t the kind you normally think of, they were a style called “Jack Purcell”. They are a total staple in the Converse shoe line up now and I wore out  2 pairs by the end of 4 years because I love them so much. They used to just come in just white lace ups but now you can get them in practically any colour and also in the slip on style (which works with or without socks). Come to think of it… I might just run out and get MYSELF a pair!

Converse Jack Purcell Leather  Classic Shoes - Navy Converse - Jack Purcell® Low Profile Slip
Jack Purcell Classics reg $60 (on the converse site below)
I found them on sale at http://www.finishline.com/ for $29!!
Click here to go directly to them.
Converse Site- Jack Purcell site: http://www.converse.com/#/products/collections/JackPurcell

3. Semi dressy flats that are comfortable for all day?

My absolute favourite “go to” flats for day or night are my silver flats. People tend to shy away from metallics but they really do act as a neutral and you can dress them up or down. Wear them with jeans and a top or with a summer dress – you could even put them with dress pants for work and they would look fabulous without trying.

Fashionable and fun round toe flat in a variety of colors and patterns. Rubber sole.
Nine West “Fascinate” flats reg $69 – on sale now for $59

4. Shoes you can wear with a summer dress – but also for long walks?

I love that you asked this question because I just bought these awesome sandals from “Naturalizer” (which I never shopped at until last fall when I purchased the cutest and most amazingly comfortable heels I’ve ever worn in my life). These sandals are well made (no cutting between the toes) super stylish but have an super cushioning soul that makes it perfect for long walks in that pretty dress. I got them in black but they are available in brown too. Plus they are on sale right now! Bonus.

Naturalizer “Rollins” Sandal reg $80 – on sale now for $69.99

Good Luck!!!

STYLE FIX

One thought on “DEAR STYLE FIX – Do stylish (yet comfy) shoes exist for mommies on the go?

Leave a Reply

