Do YOU know how to Negotiate your Salary? You should.

salary negotiation, negotiation for women

NEGOTIATION. Do you know how?

It makes sense that EVERYONE should know how to negotiate their salary but I’m almost positive that it’s STILL not something taught as an essential skill in Canadian high schools. Maybe it’s our overly friendly culture that frowns upon ‘taking advantage’ or ‘being aggressive’ but it just doesn’t make sense that this skill is left off the table, especially for women.

I know that personally, I was never given the ‘how to negotiate’ speech from my mother or father despite my dad being this super sales guy. To be fair, I’m not sure if my brother got it either. What I do know, however, is that I got many societal messages growing up that said it was the man’s job to do the negotiating and that it just wasn’t lady-like to do it or ask how it’s done. Instead, women in Canada (and I’m sure many other countries) are encouraged to be somewhat clueless and play the part of dim-witted wife or girlfriend that just doesn’t feel comfortable playing the money game.

Times change though, and for all those career women out there… you  just have to grab the negotiating bull by the horns and wrestle it down – especially when it comes to negotiating salary. Someone told me once that when it comes to negotiating salary,

“Men make more because they ask for what they want….women ask for what they think they deserve.”

So true.

Anyhow, the point is that whether you are a girl or guy – YOU CAN DO IT.

It’s only scary the first time, trust me.

Here are some helpful salary negotiating tips from  Job Mob:
7 Ways People Fail at Salary Negotiations

For more information on negotiating go to:

One thought on “Do YOU know how to Negotiate your Salary? You should.

  1. Pingback: Gain the advantage in the salary negotiation process | The Career Advisor

Leave a Reply

