Blush & Lace | How to Go Monochromatic and Still Look Interesting

Hi all! Today was another scorcher in Vancouver..something like 33C? Eeesh. HOT.

The Missing Lace Skirt

So, I went searching through my closet for something summery that I hadn’t already packed away and lo and behold… I found this cure chunky lace skirt I bought a while ago but had fallen behind something in my closet! Yay! How could I have forgotten! I pulled my original inspiration for buying this look on Pinterest:

lace skirt, coral and turquoise

I love the combination of bright coral and turquoise. So fresh.

Going Monochromatic

That said, since I’ve gone blonde again, I’ve been trying to keep that in mind and experiment with colour looks that may not have worked on me with a darker hair tone. So this time I decided to go a bit softer and more monochromatic by mixing a dusty rose top, with the cream skirt, nude patent heels and gold/ivory accessories. The trick though is to not look like a tired, chewed out piece of bubble gum by adding interest in other ways. In this case we are talking: a) texture (the chunky lace skirt) and… b) the shine in the gold accessories and shoes.

lace skirt, monochromatic look

Skirt: Forever 21 | Top: American Eagle | Heels: Nine West | Necklace: Ardene

20130912-225515.jpg

20130912-225559.jpg

short blonde hair cut for women

20130912-230554.jpg

I like how the outfit turned out and conveniently it packs small (fit’s easily in my bag for New York) and I’ll be able to dress it down with more casual flats and wear it again while I’m there. What do you think? Are you for or against the monochromatic look? Erin

Leave a Reply

