Black Lace

So I bought this lace top a while ago from Jack & Jill. I loved the texture and interest of the lace and it was opaque enough that I could wear it to work with just a cami underneath and still feel covered enough to be appropriate.

The only thing was that I didn’t wear it much.

But then…

a) I got this great pencil skirt from Reitmans (stretchy…yet structured!) and…

b) I found these inspiration pictures:

image

and…

image

…and I knew just how I wanted to style it.

image

Top: Jack & Jill (similar)
Skirt: Reitman’s (here)
Belt: Mexx (similar)
Shoes: Fergalicious (similar)

image

I love the double buckle brown belt of the first inspiration photo but had one similar to the one in the second photo so I went with that. I like that the brown belt is just a little unexpected so it adds interest without looking totally out of place.

Somehow I’m finding that I’m drawn more and more to the neutrals as I get older – not that there is anything wrong with that – but I think I’ll inject a shot of colour in there tomorrow just for fun.

Stay tuned!

image

Leave a Reply

