Copy Cat| A Funny Thing Happend on Ellen Yesterday…

So I finally got around to watching some of the 15 episodes of Ellen I have PVR’d and I settled on the one with Meryl Streep. Little did I know that she would become my latest colour combination muse!

image

Photo credit: Hollywoodreporter.com

You can see in the photo that she is wearing red pants and a drapy, almost 70s style blouse in a peachy shade, which I loved as a contrast to the boldness of the red.

I usually default to the cooler shades but had just tailored my red pants and was looking for an excuse to break them out.

SO… here is how I translated the colour inspiration:

image

image

Top: Smart Set
(similar, 3/4 sleeve | similar, sleeveless)
Pants: the Gap (similar cropped, similar)
Heels: Nine West (similar)
Blazer: Mexx (similar)

My top is a bit more structured and I added a 3/4 sleeve beige blazer for work but I would go with the softer top with longer sleeves if I had something similar.

The funny thing was, after I started searching for images of Meryl on Ellen I realized that I was my inspiration was a total accident! Apparently, because of the way the colours translate to TV her top looked peach but here is how it looked in real life:

image

Photo credit: eonline.com

Um…ya. Cream.

Well you gotta love accidental inspiration. Now I can say this daring stab at colour combining was all my idea *wink wink*

Would you work a peach & red look?

image

Leave a Reply

